What is COH32.exe Windows Process

Today I found for first time a strange process named COH32.exe.

I was loading a huge file /250MB/ in Notepad+ and hit Alt+Ctrl+Del to open Task manager and watch Memory usage.

Then I suddenly saw it – after couple of seconds COH32.exe disappeared from my Task Manager.

I made a search and found it is a Symantec Security Center file. Can be found in \Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\COH

The good news it is not harmful. The COH32.exe is Symantec digitaly signed and is used from my antivirus program for proactive scanning.

If you have this process running too and use Symantec, perhaps it is their file.

But some trojans and viruses may be named same way. The difference is they can be found in Windows or Windows\System32 folders instead of Symantek folder. So, make a search in this folders for COH32.exe.

2 Responses

  1. I’ve noticed this on mine too today.

  2. […] What is COH32.exe Windows Process | Computers Problems and … – Today I found for first time a strange process named COH32.exe. I was loading a huge file /250MB/ in Notepad+ and hit Alt+Ctrl+Del to open Task manager and watch Memory usage. […]

Leave a Reply

